Free Personal Unlimited Dropbox with Resilio Sync and Raspberry Pi

Jayden Chua
3 min readApr 10, 2020

I’ve been using Dropbox for a long time, but recently I’m really in love with Resilio Sync. Well if you have 30mins spare time and raspberry laying around, let’s go!

I was slightly annoyed at how dropbox isn’t working in countries like China and the fact that the free version now only works on a limited number of devices. Also, I’m not a huge fan of the subscription model — not in this use-case at least.

Recently, I revisited the idea of trying out BT Sync again. Apparently, the then BT Sync is now rebranded as Resilio Sync. I stop using it previously because it was slightly buggy previously, but this time round after trying it out of a month. I really like that it was able to handle most of the different scenarios I was throwing at it.

So, I decided to purchase the Home pro version, and they kindly gave me a discount too, so I was sold almost immediately. Oh~ did I mention I tried it on iOS, macOS, Ubuntu, Windows 10 and Android too?! Yes, you’re probably only limited to the amount of hard disk space you throw at it. And it sure as hell works in China too! Selective syncing works really well for mobile devices, so that was one of the really cool features for me.

I decided to set up a central node using a raspberry pi. On this node, one of its…

--

--

Jayden Chua

An avid web developer constantly looking for new web technologies to dabble in, more information can be found on bit.ly/jayden-chua